Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

And what do YOU have to say? – J. CROSTON – interview no.5

on 12/02/2015

INTERVIEW TIME

A completely different author joins me now, one whose fantasy world features werewolves, witches and all manner of dark mythological creatures. But fear not! He doesn’t bite. Although his stories are not for the faint-hearted, you might all have fun meeting this man.

image

1.      What makes you want to write (dark) fantasy? Is it even a choice? 
I write what I enjoy reading.  I enjoy fantasy that takes you to new places but also makes the main characters face distinct problems.  Generally, the scarier the problem, the better the story it makes.  I also studied mythology in school, so I am most comfortable with those topics and settings.

2. Which fantasy character(s) did you most enjoy creating and why? 
Probably Victor Inglewood from The Cactus Killer.  He’s the kind of guy who I’d like to grab a beer with because he is a cool customer.  His major aspect is when the going gets tough, he becomes his best.  However, much like most guys, he can’t handle his feelings too well and his personal life ends up being trickier than it should be.

3. If you could be one of your characters, who would you be and why? 
I’d totally be Loki from The Ragnarok on Ice series.  He’s ultimately a good guy, but he can and does whatever he wants.  Besides that, he’s full of snark and wit that just makes him really fun to write.

4. Do you get writer’s block? How do you pull yourself out? 
I’ll take myself away from the draft for a day or two, do anything besides work on the manuscript.  When I come back to it, I write down exactly what’s going through my mind, no matter how bad it is.  Normally, as the ideas start flowing, I’ll find one I like and boom, it’s back!

5. What do your friends and family think about you as a writer? Whose opinion do you value? 
My friends and family think I’m nuts for writing.  However, they are also my biggest fans and enjoy reading what craziness I come up with.  The most important is definitely my wife who also serves as my editor.  If she likes it, I know it’s a good idea.

6. How do you handle public readings? Who is, or do you think might be, your toughest crowd? 
I’ve only done two and they were harrowing to say the least.  I’m not a big fan of public speaking anyway, so I did my best in that setting.  My toughest crowd would probably be the people who read not just for entertainment, but education.  I’m a fantasy writer 100% and my books are only designed to entertain and not enlighten.

7. Would you like to try writing in a
different genre? Which and why? 
Funny you ask, right now I’m trying my hand at a romantic-drama that has absolutely no fantasy/sci-fi aspects to it.  This to date has been the toughest one to write as I constantly want to go back to my comfort zone.  It may end up not being very good, but I’m giving it my all.

8. What is your writer’s zone like? Any particular music, place, time… 
The writer zone is when my headphones are in, classic rock is playing, and the sun is shining in.  I love natural light, so my time of day is definitely mid-morning to afternoon.  When the sun lights my screen, magic happens.

9. Which past author would you like to interview and why? What would you ask?  This is a tough question.  I know it’s not too far in the past, but Michael Creighton inspired me to become an author with works like Jurassic Park and Timeline.  I’d love to pique his brain and get to know the man behind the bestsellers.

10. How do you snap back into reality after a book is finished? 
It takes a day or two to come back for sure.  A date night with the wife or a day not being anywhere near a computer is what helps the best though.

11. Would you like to add anything about your current work or send a message to the readers? 
2015 is going to be a fun year for me.  I have a few books in the works plus later this year, the final book for the Ragnarok on Ice series will be coming out.  I hope you stop by my pages sometimes and give my books a try!

image

Thank you, Jeremy (or should I say – Loki?;)

Jeremy’s book on Amazon
(Check his other books as well!)

Anita Kovacevic

One response to “And what do YOU have to say? – J. CROSTON – interview no.5

  1. Great interview, Jeremy! I love the fact that you included “spending time with my wife” as one of your hobbies … so sweet:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

