Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

And what do YOU have to say? – LEXA HARPELL – interview no.4

on 12/02/2015

INTERVIEW TIME

A great lady from the other side of the planet is joining me for an interview. She says her multitasking inner child has never left her, and you have to admire her for that. Enjoy her relentless energy…

image

1. Your book is a gift dedicated to your mother. How did the idea for the book even come to you?
My mum’s 90th birthday was approaching and I wanted to give her a gift to show her that I remembered all she did for me throughout my life. I rushed through stores looking for that ‘perfect’ gift. One day I was sitting in a park and saw a patch of dandelions, the memory of my mum teaching how to make dandelion chains made me smile. From then, more memories what my mum did for me began to flow in. This was to be my gift to her.

2. How did you feel when you finished the book? Drained, elated, a sense of peace.
Some would say it probably had a cleansing effect. Was it cleansing or simple gratitude? My intention was to give my mum a heartfelt gift, it also turned out to be the greatest gift I gave to myself. During the process there was cleansing for sure. I have the crying gene and a lot of ‘My Stuff’ just floated away, which I wasn’t expecting. It also showed me how powerful small acts can influence your life; the gratitude overwhelmed me in a natural way.

3. When did you start considering yourself an author?
It sounds like a fun title, yet it doesn’t sit with me. I guess, because I didn’t intend to publish a book, it just evolved.

4. Do you get writer’s block?
Not really, I tend to write heaps of random phrases in no particular order, I just keep writing. How do you pull yourself out? When I become overwhelmed with connecting and expanding my random phrases, I either revert to playing a game on my computer for a few minutes or go for a run or swim.

5. You have two projects under way. Could you tell us more about them?
After the elation of publishing my mum’s book passed, a huge wave of guilt/regret opened that I hadn’t done the same for my dad. I wanted another perspective, to see my dad through the eyes of a son. The hard part was asking my brother for input! The second project is a series of short, thought provoking stories about the Silent Generation. I don’t want to go into detail to give my one and only plot away! Ha ha I am also considering the idea of writing about ‘meeting’ my ancestors when we visit all the towns and places they originated from in Europe this year. 

6. What’s the most difficult thing about writing for you?
Culling excessive words, keeping it short.

7. Which genre would you like to try at and why?
Children’s books. There is a great responsibility in choosing your words carefully. Children’s minds are open and easily influenced.

8. If you could observe any famous past author while they are writing, who would it be and why?
Ahhh there are a few; Stevenson, Melville, Rumi, Byron etc., yet it would have to be Theodor Geisel -Dr Seuss! There are layers and messages with his words and illustrations to make you ponder. They are not only for young children, adults still have their own child inside who needs to be reminded of who they are. His books are for all ages. My favourite: ‘Oh the Places You’ll Go!’ I have the book on my desk at all times.

9. What is the one genre you think you could never write?
Horror and dark genres. Those types of thoughts to write are a blank to me. However I greatly admire Stephen King, brilliant!

10. A) If you could live inside a book, as a character, which book and which character would it be?B) Where would you rather relax – by the ocean or in the mountains?
A) Classically; Alice from Alice in Wonderland. She goes on some amazing adventures and the experiences made her grow, emotionally and literally!
B) Ocean. Growing up in Bondi – I swam almost everyday. It refreshes my soul.

11. Would you like to add anything about your current work or send a message to the readers?
We tend to remember the big events in life, yet the small ‘acts’ you give or receive have the most power. Slow down to seek them out and focus on them; your world will change.

image

Thank you, Lexa Harpell!

Lexa’s book video
Lexa’s book on Amazon

Anita Kovacevic

4 responses to “And what do YOU have to say? – LEXA HARPELL – interview no.4

  1. […] And what do YOU have to say? – Lexa Harpell. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lexa says:

    Thank you so much Anita for the opportunity to an interview. You certainly posed some fascinating questions, which revealed aspects I had not considered to question. I loved each moment spending this time with you. Cheers, Lexa 🙂

    Like

  3. Awesome interview, Lexa! It was fun getting to know you better. If you ever need tips on constructing children’s books, let me know. I have several written but they haven’t gone to publishing yet because I haven’t found the right illustrator. I’ve been teaching 2 and 3 year olds for nearly two decades, so I definitely know what they seek in a good picture book:)

    Great questions, Anita!

    Like

Leave a Reply

