Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

And what do YOU have to say? – MARCIA W. MARTINS – interview no.19

on 24/02/2015

INTERVIEW TIME

Anita’s Haven has a romantic visitor today, author Marcia Weber Martins, your multitasking and multicultural married mum, who combines her Brazilian origin with her current German home, several professions, three big children and a husband, and still finds the time to bring some romance into her readers’ lives. Here she is…

image

1. How come you started writing romance? Is it the genre you like to read as well?

I like to read both romance and crime. I want to write a story mixing crime/action and romance but I’m kind of a romantic person. So I started writing romance. I’m working on my second book and this one will be a mix between crime and romance.

2. What is the most romantic book couple ever in your opinion?

Difficult to say, but I think Anna Karerina and Graf Vronskij .

3. ​How do you balance your family life, day-job and writing? Do you have a magic trick that helps you, some little ritual perhaps?

It’s very difficult to find balance between three demanding tasks, I haven’t found it yet. I write when I can. I try to take at least one day a week only to write but it doesn’t always work out.

4. ​Why do you write poetry? Do you prefer to read it or write it?

Nowadays I don’t write poetry as I used to write when I was young. I write poetry because it is an easy way to convey your feelings or impressions about something or someone. I prefer to write poetry than to read it.

5. ​What did it feel like when you decided to publish your work? Was it your own decision or did your friends and family sort of push and encourage you?

Since it has always been my dream to publish a book, to be a published author, however, it scared me when I decided to publish my work. I have doubts if the story was good enough for publishing but my friends and my family, specially my husband, had supported and encouraged me to go on with my decision.

 6. Do your husband and your sons read your novels? Do they brag about your writing career?

My husband read it twice after I finished it but he has been reading it since I started writing it. Funny is, that my sons haven’t read it yet but their girlfriends have. They helped me to promote my work, specially my youngest son.

7. ​Do you think it is difficult for married couples to sustain romance in this day and age?

Yes, it’s difficult to sustain romance especially after many years together. The routine, job and family demands are romance killers. People often forget how important is to have time for each other. Once you are married, people have the tendency to accommodate and forget to express their love to each other. To maintain the love and romance from the beginning, you have to care for each other and remind yourselves every day how important you are to each other.

8. What did you want to be when you were a little girl? Have you realized any of those dreams?

Yes, I have realized my dreams. First I wanted to be a teacher and then I wanted to be a writer. I chose Physiotherapy, because I wanted to take care of people, take care of their pain and make them feel better. I worked many years as Physiotherapist. After moving to Germany and not being able to work with physiotherapy, I had to reinvent myself. It was my chance to fulfill my old dream, so I started writing and teaching.

9. How do people react when you tell them you are a writer?​ Does the word roll off your tongue or is it still difficult to consider yourself as a writer?

I don’t know why but it is still difficult for me to say “I’m a writer”. People react in many different ways, for example, a friend of my had corrected me saying  “no you’re not a writer but a published author’’. I never thought of it this way but it’s true. Anyways most of them look surprised and ask me about the book.

10. ​Which book made a great impact on you as a person and why?

The Little Prince from Antoine de Saint-Exupery. In his innocent and childish way, the little prince, shows us how important is to believe, to trust and to love without fear or prejudice.

11. Would you like to add anything about your current work or send a message to the readers?

First of all, I would like to thank everyone that read my book and took the time to write amazing reviews. My book is about love, family bond and friendship, important values that should never be forgotten or neglected.

image

 Marcia’s website
Marcia’s book on Amazon

So don’t forget – read, rate & review! And by all means, recommend the books you like to the people you like!

Anita Kovacevic

Leave a Reply

