Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

UNTAMED

on 03/04/2015

Wish I could be like
An untamed stallion…
Losing my breath from running free
Glowing skin in the sun
Fearlessly pushing through the branches
Of the treetops in the forest
And breaking into the clearing
Proudly and sturdily
With the wind tossing my mane
And me jumping for shere joy of life.

Wish I could be like that…
But I’m not.
I have this brake inside me
Which stops my race…
I have this strange fence
I seem to have built for myself
(by myself)
and with years
it hasn’t dwindled
or got damaged
but stands fast
as strong
or even stronger than before
and seemingly invisible
flashes my conscience
every time my heart races faster
my soul’s wings flutter
my legs try to gallop
and my mind to travel…

I don’t know why.
Sometimes my fence is my friend.
But deep down – I hate it.

Wish I could be like
An inquisitive child (again)…
Losing my breath from running free
Glowing skin in the sun
Fearlessly pushing through the grass
In a meadow or a hill
And breaking into the clearing
Proudly and with a smile
With the wind in my hair
And me jumping for shere joy of life.

Wish I could be like that.
But I’m not.
I have this naughty kid inside me
Who starts my race
I have this beautiful inner child
I seem to have preserved myself
(for myself)
and with years
it has hidden
it gets silenced
but isn’t lost
just as mischievous
or maybe more so than before
and seemingly invisible
flashes my conscience
every time my heart would slow down
my soul would give up
and my mind might cave in…

I know why.
Sometimes my inner child is my difficult teenager.
But deep down – I love it.

image

(Written on June 1, 2011)

2 responses to “UNTAMED

  1. jampope17 says:

    Beautiful poetry, my friend. We all have children inside of us, and we can’t allow their voice and desire to explore and play to be forgotten. Run like the stallion you are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

