Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

And what do YOU have to say? – ICA IOVA

on 08/04/2015

INTERVIEW TIME

Meet my today’s guest – author Ica Iova. She is a lady of so many talents that one genre is too narrow a field for her to express all the ideas bubbling in her mind, bursting with life experience which adds to the author’s credibility. Her Romanian descent is also included in her work, flavouring her books with that extra special spice every author craves. I am happy to have her as my guest.

image

1.   What are the five most important things we should know about you?

I like rainy days if I have a good book to read.
I am an animal lover.
I’m a people’s person, but I’m also comfortable when I am alone.
I hate hotdogs, but I’ll eat one with my grandkids.
I’m a forgiving person but if someone tries to hurt me a second time, I cut them loose.

2.   You have quite a variety of books published. When did you start writing and publishing, and what was the turning point in your life when you decided to publish your first book? How did it feel?

I often joke about this and tell people I started writing as a child. This has a grain of truth to it. After reading Puiul (The Chick) by Ion Alexandru Bratescu-Voinesti, which it’s a sad story from Romanian literature, about a baby quail who hasn’t listened to his mother to sit still with his brothers while she tries to divert a hunter’s attention. The naughty chick flies from his hiding place, and the hunter shoots and injures him badly enough so he can’t join his migrating family to warmer lands.

Even though the story is meant to teach children to listen to their parents, I hated it, so I re-wrote it. My version had a happy ending. A child found the injured bird and took it home and nursed it back to health. From there on, I made changes to almost every story I read when I was a child.

Over the years I wrote many other stories, I guess it was my way of thinking, but never intended to publish them. Like most people, I took the path most traveled and worked for a paycheque. Then I wrote my first novel following my daughter’s divorce. It was my way of dealing with the events surrounding it. As the years passed and along her story I encountered others, I realized how divorce changes people. I decided that this was a story worth publishing. About the same time, I sent a sample of my writing to Examiner.com wanting to write about the issues that I’ve witnessed in Family Courts. Examiner accepted me, and here I am. In other words, my career as a writer started in 2012.

It’s hard to put in words how I felt when I held my first book in my hands for the first time. Naturally, I felt proud because English is my second language.

3.   Some people say writers are egomaniacs, some call us needy, some say we are overthinking perfectionists;). Which category do you see yourself in? What makes you write and how do you handle criticism?

I consider myself a free thinker. I take criticism with an open mind. I listen to everything, keep what I need, and throw away the rest.

4.  You don’t have to share if it’s a secret, but what’s the best writing tip you’ve ever gotten?

Show, not tell the story.

5.   You write fiction and non-fiction, and within fiction you vary from paranormal to crime stories and romance. What’s your next favourite topic and/or genre you’d like to tackle? Is there anything you don’t think you could write?

I don’t think I can write children’s books. I have said this before; I write what I enjoy reading, and though I like reading books from almost every genre, I think I’ll stay with romance, women’s and paranormal. Recently, my granddaughter started to insist that I co-author a book she writes in YA. I’ll probably fulfill her wish, perhaps under another pseudo. 

6.   Has being a grandmother changed you or your writing in any way? Has it made you more sensitive to children’s stories or certain family or social issues you would like to leave as your legacy to children and grandchildren?

Absolutely! As many of my readers have noticed, my writing is “clean.” I want my children and grandchildren to be able to read my books without reservation or fear of coming across language that is unacceptable to them. Besides, foul language doesn’t belong in literature.

7.  Which one of your characters was the most difficult one for you to create? Why? Would you change anything about him/her now?

When I create a character, I want it to be likable, someone readers can relate to. I think the most difficult one was Louis in Unsung Victims. Though he starts out as a nice guy, quite quickly he morphs into this deranged lunatic who abuses his wife and children and then takes advantage of his position of power to abuse the system. Although we all know that such people exist in reality, it is hard to create the emotions they generate through their actions, and the author goes through every one of his/her character’s emotions. It was hard for me to create Louis because I never experienced abuse, and if it wasn’t for the abused women I interviewed for various articles at Examiner.com, I don’t think I would’ve been able to create Louis.                                

8.  Prejudice Not Pride deals with quite a gruesome, but true story, whereas Presumed Cross Over is a collection of horror stories. When you go into that deep, dark place where such stories abide, is it difficult to snap out of that mood and go back to everyday reality?

It is. Though I’m a bubbly person, sometimes it takes days to get certain scene or character out of my head.

9.  When you were a child, what were your favourite books and who were your favourite authors?

Though my parents were simple farmers, reading was a requirement in my family. They wanted me to have the life they never had and by reading they hoped to instill in me the love for books and the desire to continue my education. They succeeded. As a teenager, I read every book I could get my hands on. I especially loved Agatha Christie. Murder On The Orient Express was one of my favorite books of all times. Theodor Constantin’s Chrysanthemums for Erna is also a book that stayed with me from elementary school.

10.  Would you like to add anything about your current work​,​ or send a message to the readers​?

I am currently working on a sequel for Unsung Victims, titled Resilience. It is a women’s fiction about what it takes to remain standing against all odds.

image

Website
Ica Iova’s Books

One response to “And what do YOU have to say? – ICA IOVA

Leave a Reply

