Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

CHILDREN’S BOOK AUTHOR INTERVIEW no.8 – Cindy C. Murray

on 05/02/2016

Today is your chance to meet Cindy C. Murray, author of awarded children’s chapter books. Read away!

image

INTERVIEW

1. Pretend we are all children and tell us 5 things about yourself which you consider the most important!  

I am a creative person that loves to write chapter books.  I am organized and proactive to keep myself on a schedule that allows me to write every day if I choose.  I have quite an imagination that gives my characters really great adventures!

2.  Why do your write books for children? What motivates and inspires you? How do your books come to life? 

I write chapter books because I want to give children more reading options.  It is very important that kids ages 8 to 12 are comfortable reading the amount of text that are in these types of books.  My books come to life by my characters, Sophie and Scottie.  They are full of energy and are smart characters that are ready to help solve the mystery in my stories.  This energy and detail in writing keeps the reader turning the page, which also meets another goal of mine – to promote literacy.

image

3.  What were your favourite children’s books and characters when you were a child (and still)? Was there a character you wanted to be, or a book you wanted to step into? Why?

My two favorite books as a child were Charlotte’s Web and Island of the Blue Dolphins. I also loved to read biographys.  I wanted to be Karana, the indian girl on the remote island who was tough, smart, and a survivor. 

4. What is your main goal when you write a children’s book? What do you want your readers to think or feel?

My main goal is to entertain the reader and to help them escape into a make-believe world that they can relate to.  I want the readers to feel what the characters feel; challenges, wonder, happiness, and strength.

image

5. How do comments and reviews affect you? What do your friends, family and colleagues think about you as a writer? 

I like all reviews because I can learn from them which encourages me to write my Adventures of Sophie and Scottie Series.  My family and friends think my writing is great and to keep going.

6. What is the most difficult thing about writing a children’s book? What is the most fun aspect of that process?

The most difficult thing is to write about a topic that children will want to read about.  The fun aspect about the process is that after every finished chapter, you know you are on the right track and the story unfolds and is going to be really good.

image

7. Do you like reading your book in public? Who is the tougher audience – the adults or the children? Share an anecdote if you wish. 

I like to read to the kids at my author visits; they ask lots of great questions like who is Fuzzy Mama or how did I choose the names Sophie and Scottie.  Adults are best to let them read the book themselves.

8. What is the one genre or topic you think you would never write and why?

Probably a sports focused book.  I’m just not an expert enough to write about one sport or another.

image

9. If you could interview any famous children’s author, who would it be and what would you ask?

Probably J.K. Rowling; I’d ask her what is her best writing habit.

10. Why is reading important for children? Is it more important for them to read by themselves or with an adult?

Reading is the gateway to all of their education, building brain power at each sentence.  It starts with picture books read with an adult and then continues from there.  Strong reading skills build confidence in all educational topics.

image

11. Would you like to add anything about your current work or send a message to the readers? 

My Adventures of Sophie and Scottie Series of books is meant for all kids ages 8 to 12 who enjoy reading adventure stories with lots of twists and turns. I use “Edutainment” in my books so that the reader learns something in the story while being entertained.  In my “Monarch” book, the reader learns about Monarch Butterflies, pollination, pully systems, and radio waves.  In my “Fishy” book, the reader learns about ocean currents, Amelia Earhart, magnets, plumeria flowers, and Scuba diving.  All of this information fits seamlessly into each plot of the book. Both books have also received the Silver Mom’s Choice Award honoring excellence in family-friendly media, products and services.  My third book, “Sophie and Scottie’s Adventures of Sweet Tooth Rock” will be released in March of 2016.

LINKS
Sophie and Scottie’s Adventures of the Monarch Mystery
Facebook
Website
Amazon
                                                                                                                 
Thank you, Cindy!

image

Leave a Reply

