Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

A Readers’ Dare

on 21/02/2016

image

Dear fellow human,

I have been an ill-fated prisoner of this extravagant house of mine for longer than I care to remember. It enchanted and entrapped me even while I was having it built. I now know just how much I sacrificed for it, and I will never be able to make up for that, to myself or to others.

But once I entered its premises, I simply couldn’t get out! The hold of this enchanted threshold was just too strong for me, and I have remained within my beautifully gilded cage till this day – the day of my death. ‘Why?’ you may ask yourself. Well, there is treasure here, in the heart of the house – shiny, cold, smooth and astonishing – a secret treasure of life! I found it a long time ago, but I didn’t want to share it with anyone… ever. So I stayed here, with my deepest secret, turning my wonderful blessing into my fatal curse…

This is an excerpt from The Threshold, my e-novella. Dare you read? It’s just a book… no harm ever came from reading a book…

image

The Threshold on Amazon
On Lulu
On iTunes
On Barnes&Noble

Leave a Reply

