Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

HUGLESS DOUGLAS & THE GREAT CAKE BAKE by David Melling – my review no.58

on 19/06/2016

So much fun!

image

Another charming & fun story by D. Melling! Hugless Douglas has become one of my favourite children’s book characters, with his childlike simplicity, cute cuddliness and positive messages! Can a picture book about making a cake teach your child about patience, eating fruit and veggies, friendly sharing and team work? It most certainly can. And more. Can it be fun while doing so? Oh yes, food fight and all! I am looking forward to reading this one with my little students, knowing my daughter already loves it. I absolutely adore the whole series and am rooting for more!

PS: Not sure if Mr.Melling hears Douglas speaking in the same voice as I do, but I always have fun reading the stories out loud!

image

Leave a Reply

