Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Meet Lily Luchesi

on 01/11/2016

It is my pleasure today to interview one of the rising young authors. Vampire fans will love it. Meet Lily Luchesi!

Bio:

Lily Luchesi is a young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things “dark”. At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call “Gothic”, she doesn’t believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-love who will always associate vampires with love, blood, and rock and roll.

Her debut novel, Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Series Book One), was published by Vamptasy Publishing on May 19th, 2015. Book two, Miranda’s Rights, was released on January 8th, 2016. Book three, Life Sentence, was released on August 2nd, 2016 by Vamptasy Publishing, and book four, Right To Silence, was also just accepted by the publisher and will be released January 17th, 2017.

She has a short stories featured in the anthologies Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words, Death Love Lust, and Lurking In The Shadows.


Links:

http://lilyluchesibooks.wix.com/lilyluchesi

http://amazon.com/author/lilyluchesi

http://facebook.com/lilyluchesi

http://instagram.com/lilyluchesi

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7369101.Lily_Luchesi

Interview:

1. Who are you in a nutshell? 

I’m a writer, a vampire lover, insomniac who loves rock music, black clothes, the CW, and anime.

2. Why do you write? 

I am the author of the Paranormal Detectives Series, which follows a mortal detective as he discovers the “Underworld of Chicago”: vampires, witches, demons, and much more. He teams up with the FBI’s secret Paranormal Investigative Division and its leader, Angelica Cross, to stop various unearthly threats.

I am also the writer of various short stories, both horror and erotica.

3. What’s your latest project? 

My latest project is Life Sentence, the third book in the PDSeries, which picks up right when its predecessor (Miranda’s Rights) ends, with Angelica needing to adjust to a new kind of life and the demonic witch Fiona Guilfoyle is hunting her down, threatening a Wiccan takeover over all mortals and creatures alike.

4. What is your favourite character among the ones you created? 

Angelica, for sure. I love her because when I created her, I had no idea who she was aside from her parentage and species. As the series has gone on, I am discovering new things about her. She is a constant surprise.

5. What was the most difficult thing for you to write so far? 

In book four, Right To Silence (coming January 17th, 2017), one of my characters is a kidnap/torture victim, and I had to write a flashback scene that triggers an anxiety attack. As a sufferer of PTSD, that scene was very hard to write and I had to stop multiple times.

6. How do you deal with criticism, promotional activities, editing/proofreading? 

I don’t mind criticism as long as it’s constructive. If it’s trolling, then I block and move on. I promote at least two hours every few days on Facebook groups and pages, plus I utilize author takeovers, newsletters, and email blast sites to promote my books. My publisher (Vamptasy) has an editor whom I have worked with on the majority of my books, Elizabeth Anne Lance. I love working with her and my other editor, Catherine Stovall. Both are amazing ladies and really enhance my work.

7. What are your writing plans for the future? 

I will have my fourth book out, as mentioned above, in January, and the fifth sometime this summer. I also have a paranormal femdom erotic short with my publisher, to see if she wants to publish it, and various shorts releasing soon, including the Gems Of Gratitude anthology, which is releasing on November 14th.

8. Which books/authors do you admire and why? 

I really love Stephen King because he is so much more than a horror writer. He writes about people, the characters are so real you fall right into their stories. As a reader, I respect him so much, and as a writer, his book On Writing really gave me some great advice and perspective.

9. What makes you happiest in the writing process? 

When I manage to surprise myself. With the fifth PDS book, I wrote a twist that had me sitting at my laptop in shock. Those moments where it’s as if I’m not the one writing, those are what I live for.

10. What do people usually say about your writing? 

I have been so blessed with reviewers loving my books. I think what I get the most frequently is how much they love Angelica because she’s not a typical female lead in any genre. While she looks like the typical vampire assassin you see in every other paranormal book out there, she doesn’t act like one, and when readers see that and compliment me on it, it makes my whole day!

11. If you didn’t write, would you try any other arts or crafts? 

I am actually already trying my hand at graphic design, but otherwise no. I’d probably be a psychologist.

12. What was your favourite book when you were younger or a child? Why? 

I had a few, but my top two were Darren Shan’s Trials of Death and Ellen Schreiber’s Royal Blood. I still love both authors today.

13. If you could sit down for a chat with any famous author or character, who would it be and what would you talk about? 

Stephen King. I’d talk with him about so much, from dogs to monsters to baseball. Honestly, to have a conversation with him would make me die happy!

14. Pick one of your books and explain it to us as if it were a movie, listing the cast and crew if you wish. 

(Using Stake-Out, the first Paranormal Detectives book)

Set in the windy, dark city of Chicago, we follow protagonist Danny Mancini (played by Louis Ferreira) into the night as he hunts a murder suspect in the volatile South Side one day in rainy June. Instead of a psychopath, he spots a dark-haired, fanged individual (played by Richard Armitage) who is savagely tearing out the throat of a young woman in a dirty, smelly alleyway. When his bullets do nothing to stop the monster, Danny faints, only to come to and have his world torn apart.

Two years later, he is met by the beautiful Angelica Cross (played by Hayley Atwell), who takes him under her wing and into a world of blood, darkness, and reincarnation.

15. Do you have any special promos, charity releases, appearances or book releases you’d like to tell us about?

Yes, as mentioned I am in the Gems of Gratitude anthology, which will be releasing on November 14th, and you can pre-order it now wherever books are sold. And then enter a great giveaway with your purchase code on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/events/1349241698441884/

Sneak Peek:

Take a peek inside of my latest release, Life Sentence!
His sharp fangs barely nipped her neck, just getting a taste so as not to alarm her. Definitely not a real bite by any means.

She dug her nails into his back, tearing the fabric of his leather vest. Vampire bites could be an intoxicating sexual high if used properly, and even she was not immune to the effect, because of her human blood. It was that human blood that made what was supposed to be a simple execution turn into a bloody brawl. Theo had obviously tasted the humanity in her bloodstream and he wrenched himself away from her, her blood staining his chin and falling in tiny rivulets down her neck.

“You’re a fxxxing halfling?” he practically spat. “I didn’t even know your kind really existed. Why did you tell me you were a real vamp?”

“I am a real vampire,” she said, wiping her blood off her neck.

“No, you’re a freak of nature. Your kind should never have existed,” he said. “What do you say I change that?” He lunged for her, but she dodged out of the way, and his hand crashed into the brick wall, cracking the brick. He went after her again, and this time his nails cut into her face, but she immediately healed.

She pulled a blade from her oversized bag and took a swing with it, cutting into his muscular shoulder. The holy water made the wound fester and burn as Theo cried out in pain.

“You psycho, what are you carrying weapons around for?” he asked stupidly. 

Angelica rolled her eyes. “For deviants like you.” She held the knife in an offensive position and knew she needed to declare herself. Dropping the accent she said, “Detective Angelica Cross, Paranormal Investigative Division. I’m real, Theo, and I’ll easily cut your throat unless you stand down now. Let me take you in for questioning and no one will get hurt.” An utter lie, of course, but she needed information from him before she killed him.

“This is the great Cross?” Theo started to laugh maniacally. “A half breed brat who doesn’t look a day older than twenty?”

“I’m one-ninety-eight, thank you,” she replied, taking her gun swiftly in her other hand and shooting at him.

Leave a Reply

