Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Meet B. J. Tiernan

on 17/11/2016

The author of Standing on a Whale, the wonderfully positive lady named Beverly Tiernan, author B. J. Tiernan has a new book coming out! It is an epic story of a woman trying to live life through love in the midst of political, social and emotional trauma. Meet the author – B. J. Tiernan.

About the Author 

B. J. Tiernan graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Education from the University of Florida in 1972 and has been following her passion for teaching ever since. She is a retired sixth grade World History teacher who has led various seminars, workshops, courses, and classes on writing for adults. She writes contemporary fiction to create a dialogue that gets her readers to ponder and question aspects of life, including living and dying and the merging of our dark and light sides. B. J. Tiernan dedicates her writing to all of her students who are hungry to tell their own stories through the written word.

Interview Time

1. Who are you in a nutshell? 

I am the female version of Yoda.

2. Why do you write? 

To free myself.

3. What’s your latest project? 

Canadian author, Wolf Schimanski, and I have teamed up as partners and formed an alliance called TierWolf Creations. Wolf and I have very different writing styles and when they collide it is magical. We look forward to producing some exciting books for our readers in the near future.

4. What was the most difficult thing for you to write so far? 

About the pain in my past, specifically my painful relationship with my parents.

5. How do you deal with criticism, promotional activities, editing/proofreading? 

I embrace constructive criticism because the editors are usually right. I love to criticize and proofread my own work, too. Proofreading and editing are essential to putting out good work.

6. What are your writing plans for the future? 

To keep writing.

7. Which books/authors do you admire and why? 

I love books that enlarge me. If I do not walk away a better person for having read a book, I feel disappointed. Three samples of good books for me are Zorba the Greek, Report to Grecco, and The Great Gatsby. 

8. What makes you happiest in the writing process? 

The freedom I feel when I am in my writing space. I can write for hours and not miss food, water, or bathroom. I am simply lost in the moment. Pure inspiration.

9. If you didn’t write, would you try any other arts or crafts? 

I can’t think of one art or craft I would enjoy as much as I enjoy writing.

10. If you could sit down for a chat with any famous author or character, who would it be and what would you talk about? 

Nikos Kazantzakis. I would ask him to talk to me about his beloved Greece.

Get Yield here: http://amzn.to/2gdtX14

One response to “Meet B. J. Tiernan

  1. Bev Tiernan says:

    Thank you, Anita, for inviting me to do an Interview with you. I am very blessed to have you in my corner. Thank you for being such a beautiful human being. I love you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

