Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Why authors ♡ their characters – by Traci Sanders

on 08/02/2017

Traci Sanders is one of those women who are forces to be reckoned with. A mother, daycare provider, owner of the Readers Review Room, soccer coach and multigenre author, and I bet those who know her would add plenty to this list. Here is her view on why authors love their characters.

Before I get into my guest post about Why we love our characters, I want to take a moment and thank Ms. Anita Kovacevic for inviting me to share on her blog, not only today but numerous times in my writing career thus far. She is truly a one-of-a-kind person who I’m proud to call my friend. 

If you haven’t checked out her books  you are missing out! She’s a gifted writer who pours her heart and soul into everything she writes. Otherwise, she doesn’t write it. That’s what I love most about her.
On to my post: Why do we love our characters? 

The answer is simple: because they have the potential to be everything we aren’t.

I’ve known for a long time that I pour a bit of myself in to ever character I create, only, not just the good parts of me. Sometimes, the sad or disturbed pieces of my soul seep into my writing, often without my awareness or consent. 

I feel strongly that many authors do the same, as I said, sometimes unknowingly.

We create women who are strong-minded and speak out for what they believe in or feel. We create men who have ripped bodies and chiseled jawlines. Sometimes the inner child in us creeps into the children’s books or chapter books we write. Qualities of our relationships sneak into our dialogues, our backstories.

People are much braver when they write, more honest in how they feel, similar to being drunk or taking drugs. Our inhibitions can disappear when we can hide behind a pen or typewriter. 

The only problem with this is: we become exposed when we are honest, with ourselves and others, through our writing. This is one reason many writers never become authors, never hit publish for that book, or send for that email. They are too afraid of exposing their thoughts, ideas, and dreams. They are afraid people will laugh at them or tell them they’ll never amount to what they desire to become.

In summation, we love our characters because, as authors, we’re allowed to live vicariously through them. 

Who among us has never wished to live someone else’s life? 

If you’d like to check out some of my characters, visit my Amazon author page.

Special thanks, again, to Anita for inviting me to share my thoughts and ideas on this topic here today. Now, I have to go hide; I feel so exposed. (smile)

3 responses to “Why authors ♡ their characters – by Traci Sanders

  1. […] Source: Why authors ♡ their characters – by Traci Sanders […]

    Like

  2. You ask the best questions, my friend. Thanks for having me back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. debmcewan says:

    Thought-provoking and interesting interview. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

