Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Why authors ♡ their characters – by Suzi Albracht

on 14/02/2017

Suzi Albracht is an author of intriguing horror books with a flare for punishment on those who so deserve it. But today, she is showing us a romantic, loving side to her lead character. 

Why I love Mikael Ruskoff.

Mikael appears in all of my books in The Devil’s Due Collection but one book, Death Most Wicked, is his story. You meet him when he is in the best time of his life. In love with his wife, taking care of his mother, being a good role model for his son. Later on, you learn how his life darkens and evil tries to snatch his soul. This tiny look inside shows the reader that even horror books can have romance and charm in them. Let me share with you why Mikael is the kind of man who makes my heart swoon.

“Up near Annapolis. Near that gated community we drove past last year when we were out looking at Christmas lights, remember? You had remarked how you love the neighborhoods up there. This one has a hot tub, four bedrooms, five baths, and a stone fireplace in the master bedroom. Bianca told me about it. She has connections with the realtor. She said it’s not officially on the market yet.”

“That nice, huh?”

“Even nicer. But we can’t leave D.C. right now because of your job, so I told her we couldn’t consider it.”

“But you like it?” Mikael pulled her chin up so their eyes met.

“I love it.” She nibbled on her lip and lowered her eyes. Mikael stroked her hair and watched her face for a second as if he were thinking.

“Then make an appointment for us.”

Tatiana’s eyes flew open. “But we have to live in the District.”

“I’ll make it work. And if I can’t, then I’ll apply to the Annapolis Detective Division.”

Tatiana rolled on top of Mikael, causing their wine to slosh over the sides of the goblets. She rained kisses over his face. He lay back with a smile on his face. He loved making his wife happy. It was right up there with pleasing his son.

After several minutes, Tatiana rolled back over and stared at the stars with a huge grin on her face.

“Oh honey, you’re going to love it too. There’s room for your pool table and drums set and… it has a small mother-in-law apartment over the garage.”

Mikael raised his eyebrows and shook his head. “For Mom? Oh baby, you have no idea what you are getting into.”

“I like your Mom.”

“And she likes you, but having my mother that close? Mom can be over-bearing if she gets the chance.”

They both lay back, thinking of the new house.

“Mikael? I knew you bought the puppy. Your mom told me.” Tatiana giggled.

Mikael burst out laughing. “Forget what I said earlier. If my Mom moved in, I’d be the one in trouble. The two of you might gang up on me.”

“I might have already hinted something about the house to her.”

Now Mikael had a full-bellied laugh. He was laughing so hard that Tatiana fell out of the hammock.

“Hey!” She complained, looking up at him with a pouting lip.

Mikael rolled out of the hammock and pulled her to her feet.

“Let’s dance.”

“But there’s no music.”

“The music is in here.” Mikael put her hand over his heart. “Do you hear it?”

Tatiana melted into his arms and they swayed to the music in Mikael’s heart.


Buy link: books2read.com/DeathMostWicked

Trailer link: bit.ly/2dhsfXP

Web site: www.SuziAlbracht.com

Twitter and Instagram Handles: @SuziAlbracht

Dear Suzi, thank you so much for showing us the gentle side of your character. And yes, I do get why you like him.



Leave a Reply

