Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Why authors ♡ their characters – by Stewart Bint

on 19/02/2017

Stewart Bint is an amazing author I’ve had the pleasure of meeting in the Awethors group. This man of many talents and a truly kind person, shares with you today his favourite character.


WHY I LOVE ABIGAIL CARTER – by Stewart Bint

I’ve made an unusual choice with featuring this character, Abigail Carter, who I particularly like from my most recent novel, The Jigsaw And The Fan.

Why unusual? Because apart from just one three-page scene of her own towards the end of the book, she is only mentioned two or three times in passing. 

But I hope with what we see and hear through Abigail in this one scene shows readers the true nature and character of her dead husband – our hero, Albert Carter. Until this point Albert’s antics could definitely polarise opinion…you either support him or violently disagree with him; there’s no real middle ground. And that is why I love Abigail so much.

It’s amazing how things work out, isn’t it? This scene wasn’t in the original manuscript, and my publisher’s editor said she wanted to know a little more about Abigail. As her role had only been in passing and in flashbacks until then, I wrote Abigail’s three pages as an epilogue. But my editor said no. She absolutely loved the final line of the manuscript, which everyone tells me is an absolute stunner, and she told me to include the scene earlier on.

I felt that with a little rewriting the episode could really pave the way for what happens when Albert meets his final destiny. And do you know what? I believe it really works in that way. I hope everyone reading the pages where Saint Christopher passes judgement on Albert will relate back to Abigail’s scene in the cemetery, and see why the story ends in the way it does. 

So I’m hoping that thanks to Abigail, all readers will finish with the same opinion of Albert.  

Let’s take a look now at our last glimpse of Abigail in The Jigsaw And The Fan:    

And as Abigail turned away from the grave, her vision blurred.

She blamed the shaft of sunlight slanting through the branches of the ancient Yew tree. But in reality it was the tear which paused in her eye before trickling its way slowly down her cheek.

She looked back over her shoulder, one last glance at the grave.

“Goodbye love, God bless.”         

Links:

https://twitter.com/AuthorSJB

http://stewartbintauthor.weebly.com/

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-jigsaw-and-the-fan/id1161253770?mt=11

Leave a Reply

