Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Why authors ♡ their characters – by Rebecca McCray

on 22/02/2017

One of the wonderful authors I’ve met and had the privilege of working with on the Awethology is the fantasy author Rebecca McCray. She is right – it is definitely difficult to pick one as a favourite character, but I am glad she tried.

A Character I Love…. – by Rebecca McCray

When Anita asked me to pick one character, I knew I would struggle. I love all of my characters for various reasons. There’s Tip, the comic underdog. Natal impresses as the likeable bad guy. Then, of course, there’s Prizene, the stereotypical beauty queen that wants nothing to do with the stereotype.

For me, Kenrya from the Undergrounders stands out. You meet her in chapter one as she debates whether to let another sixteen-year-old be killed by those hunting him. Her self-preservation instinct overrides her compassion. She’s a survivor, haunted by her past.

Throughout the Journey of the Marked, Kenrya frequently reacts with anger or frustration. She dismisses weaker companions as unimportant. Her irritation with these individuals nearly costs her life, yet she struggles to trust. And then, of course, there’s the smell….

So, why would she be a loved character?

She’s resilient and a fighter. An abusive childhood shaped her. Despite not being able to shake that past, she sought refuge among an admirable group and contributed to their cause. She learns from her past. For example, when she encountered a traumatic situation, she sought education to prevent it from happening again. 

I admire her strength, her ability to overcome adversity, and her unwavering confidence in herself. She’s not unlike some of the strong women I’ve known in my lifetime and I respect her for that. 

As the series progresses, I look forward to watching her evolve.

(Beautiful fan art)

http://www.rebeccamccray.com/

http://www.facebook.com/miyranheir

http://www.twitter.com/rebpai

Leave a Reply

