Anita's Haven

books, thoughts, stories, poetry, interviews, writing

Why authors♡ their characters

on 23/02/2017

This has truly turned out to be an interesting series, with some more authors still to come by the 28th of February. I am grateful to all my guests and their readers fans who are quirky enough, just like I am, to love (and hate) book characters as if they were real. Well, they are, right;)?

Why I love…

There is a work in progress which has been lying in my writing cupboard for a while now. It only needs the final edits, but it is has taken such a large chunk of my life while writing it, and when it was finished, and read by several beta readers, I realized it is such a highly unusual blend of a children’s fairytale and adult horror that it might not be publishable. So I set it aside. 

However, the more it waits, the more convinced I am that it is meant to be what it is, just as it is. What is more, several beta readers have asked me about it, my loved and hated characters from it visit me from time to time, and too many things in all areas of my activity pop out unexpectedly to remind me of this novel. 

Therefore, this spring might finally bring The Forest of Trees to light. It has been the most intense book I have worked on so far and I live so many characters in there, even the trees. Especially the trees. And the children, each bearing the burden of their upbringing and character. Their parents – oh boy, how I love some of them. And all the people in that little town of Tillsworth. Well, not the Jacksons, at least not all of them. And the…

Yes. It is time to enter the Forest again. Absolutely.

Leave a Reply

